New Atlantic Immigration Pilot Program for Permanent Residence

The Atlantic provinces of Canada consisting of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador, have united together with the Federal government and introduced a new program called the “Atlantic Immigration Pilot Program”. This program became active in March 2017. The Atlantic Provinces are aiming to bring 2,000 new workers and their families to the region. This is a three-year pilot program which is introduced by the government of these provinces to meet the labor demand in the market and facilitate the growth of business in certain sectors.

This program has three subprograms: skilled workers, intermediate-skilled workers and international graduates. All principal applicants arriving under this program will have a job offer from a designated employer and an individualized settlement plan, however a Labour Market Impact Assessment will not be required as is normally typical. There is also a lower English language requirement than the current Express Entry system which may make it easier for some applicants to be successful under this new permanent residence program.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram